Home Machine Replacement

So, it’s been a while since I’ve done anything with my home computer/media server and I thought it best to now have a play and see if I can’t build myself something nicer with more bips and bots. Given that the hardware market has changed so much etc.

I did think that I’d want to build a board computer and hang it from the wall like some piece of contemporary art or some such nonsense, but then I had a little look into how much that would cost and how much time that would take… lets be reasonable here and say; fuck that!

Within my little LAN I have a Surface Pro 3, MacBook Air (late 2014), three Plex players and the obligatory iPad and iPhone – so really, this computer doesn’t need to be a monster, just something that simply will hold up to being the direct source of all my torrents, internet traffic, site-to-site VPN and media storage hub.

The machine that I’m running now is no slouch either however, packing;

  • Gigabyte GA-90FXA-UD3 motherboard
  • 10GB RAM
  • Dual Gigabit LAN cards
  • 8-core AMD FX-8120 processor
  • 1x 1TB WD HDD
  • 1x 2TB USB3.0 storage box for my files

I think one of the biggest things I want to get out of this new build is portability, as the GA-90FXA is a fullsize board, the case is large and not very portable. Also, I should probably have a RAID for my drives.

Leave a Reply

